Skip to main content

Selling home has been a nightmare (RANT)(long)

My husband and I bought this home 4 years ago at the start of the pandemic and loved the house. We just didn't realize this place had a terribly noisy neighbor. Literally playing loud music we can hear inside of our house for hours almost everyday. I work from home and it's really distracting when the music is so loud, it's almost rattling my windows. We have tried EVERYTHING except fighting back. We tried talking to them, we tried calling the cops, NOTHING HAS WORKED. The guy that lives there is a complete AH. We eventually got to the point where we couldn't take it anymore and decided to sell the place. We originally bought it with the intent of staying here for 10+ years, so we haven't done anything to the inside of the house except painting. We have taken out a 40k HELOC against it to get a new fence (the old one was disintegrating and almost falling over), stabilize and raise the foundation, and take out a 15'×22' shed that was half finished to eventually be an ADU. Our house was built in 48 so I know it's old and has a small galley kitchen. Trying to sell this place has been crazy since our realtor told us to get a pre-listing inspection ti see what repairs needed to be done. Makes sense. We got the inspection back and our realtor said it went very well and that only about 10 items needed to be addressed. We went ahead and got those fixed. Cost us around 7k to get all of that fixed (siding issues, some electrical issues, landscaping, interior painting, and exterior painting, some miscellaneous stuff like getting a replacement faucet handle) Our realtor made a HUGE deal about the pet smell in our house, so we were frantically cleaning every time we had a showing. We finally list the house and we just kept getting no after no after no. People were saying the kitchen was too small, or the house needed more updating, but said the house was appropriately priced (whatever that means). It ended up being on the market for almost 90 days. We took it off for the holidays and are going to put it back up on the market in mid January, but we are so over being here. Our neighbor has been playing music so loud and we get so upset that we have to escape our escape. It feels like our house is never going to get sold and we just want out. We dont have the cash to be able to do a bridge loan and our income wouldn't be able to support 2 mortgages at once while trying to sell this home. We live in a separate state from family so we don't have the option of living with family for the time being. Renting could be an option, but trying to rent with 2 large dogs (80lb. And 95lb) and a cat would be a whole other nightmare to deal with on top of trying to get out of our current home. It just feels so hopeless. Thanks for letting me rant 🙂 I'm really hoping we can get out of here soon. I'm so stressed out.

submitted by /u/thatonestrangekid
[link] [comments]

source https://www.reddit.com/r/RealEstate/comments/1hjvpjv/selling_home_has_been_a_nightmare_rantlong/

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Aren't comps/CMAs useless with buyer credits at close happening now?

I'm looking into buying a new construction townhouse in my HCOL US city. I'm seeing builders offering interest rate buydowns worth $20k-$60k on $800k homes (rather than just lowering prices) in order to keep their comps high for their other units, now that buyer demand has been declining. I asked my agent about these, and he said these buydowns aren't even the full story: buyers can write all kinds of other credits into an offer, like their closing costs, prepaid sewer fees, etc. Apparently cash buyers can just write in a "buyer credit at close" for any amount in their offer. So a new townhouse that appeared to sell for $800k in the MLS might have actually been a cash offer with a $100k+ buyer credit at close, meaning the buyer only spent $700k or less in total, but to the rest of the world they can only see the $800k! So that made me realize I can't trust comps/CMAs for other new construction townhouses. The sales prices could be way lower than they appear...

Pool fill without engineer oversight

We are in the process of purchasing our first ever home in CA and we just discovered in the disclosures that the new build property we are purchasing previously had a swimming pool which was filled without an engineer onsite to approve the work (details from disclosure below). Is this something we should be concerned with or not? Is it something we should have additional inspections conducted on? We are originally from the UK and not really sure what to do with this information and if it is concerning or not. A POOL DID EXIST PREVIOUSLY. COPING, TILE, GUNNITE AND REBAR WERE ALL REMOVED AND DIRT AND CLEAN DRAIN ROCK WERE USED TO FILL IT IN. COMPACTED FILL WAS NOT USED AND NO ENGINEER APPROVED THE DIRT AND DRAIN ROCK FILL IN submitted by /u/tommot82 [link] [comments] source https://www.reddit.com/r/RealEstate/comments/dpyzw8/pool_fill_without_engineer_oversight/

Making offers on houses not listed for sale.

I want to buy a home for retirement. I am looking at lots of options, mostly focusing on the locations that appeal to me. I see lots of Zillow estimates of homes that look like great deals to me. Are these estimates accurate, even though similar houses in the same area that are for sale are usually priced much higher? If so, is it realistic for me to try to make offers to owners that do not have their homes listed? Would a realtor even consider helping me do this? Or, do these values indicate that the houses listed for sale are overpriced, and I should just lowball until someone accepts? Are houses today tending to sell far below list prices, or ??? submitted by /u/chewybrian [link] [comments] source https://www.reddit.com/r/RealEstate/comments/1o4mcon/making_offers_on_houses_not_listed_for_sale/