Skip to main content

Posts

Realtor unresponsive, listing not moving—what should I do?

I’m selling my home and signed a listing agreement with the same realtor I used when I bought the home... she’s friendly and pleasant but I’m starting to feel like she’s not motivated to sell my property or able to communicate effectively. It’s been almost two weeks and we’ve had zero showings. I initially asked for guidance on staging, and was told not to worry and “just so I can take pictures.” I asked if I needed to remove personal items and decor and she said no, that people like to see the home lived in. Some photos have people in the background that could have been easily cropped, a laundry basket with dirty clothes, and lights off. I raised concerns about the photos last night and was told it wasn’t important and wouldn’t change how/if my house sold. I’ve expressed concerns about the listing three times now. The first time I was told “I’ll check on it tomorrow.” The second time, two days after the first and when I received no follow up, I didn’t hear back at all. The third ti...
Recent posts

Nightmare Appraisal Situation. Trailer In Park. PLEASE LEAVE ADVICE!!❤️

Hello all. I'm looking for somebody capable of appraising the value of a trailer in a park. I'm well aware of the constraints with it being considered personal property. However, I'm looking for anybody capable of providing me a licensed personal property appraisal to provide my bank in order to get a loan. Any and all ideas or direction are appreciated! I'll even take recommendations for better subs to post this to. My main goal is to find one at least in the state!😅 This has been a very long and drawn-out process, and I have absolutely fallen in love with a trailer, and I take "no" as more of a challenge, unfortunately. Edit: Located in Michigan preferably Southeast area. submitted by /u/PsychCobraa [link] [comments] source https://www.reddit.com/r/RealEstate/comments/1s48ie3/nightmare_appraisal_situation_trailer_in_park/

Best heloc rates or heloc lenders?

I’m starting to look into a HELOC and thought the main thing would be finding the best HELOC rates, but the more I read it seems like the lender matters almost as much as the rate. From what I’m seeing, a lot of the comparison sites focus on rates, but once you dig deeper there are a lot of other things that seem to matter too. Things like closing costs, annual fees, draw period, repayment terms, rate caps, and how smooth the application process is. I’m trying to figure out how people are comparing lenders in real life. Some seem to go through their local bank or credit union, while others look at online lenders. I’ve been browsing a few options and even saw names like Achieve come up while researching, but it’s hard to tell from reviews how the process goes once you apply. Right now I’m mainly trying to balance finding the best HELOC rate with choosing a lender that’s easy to work with and transparent about fees and terms. Would be helpful to hear what ended up mattering most to oth...

Agent seems to only dissuade me from buying and I'm not sure if this is a sign that they are looking out for me, or not.

I've been working with an agent for a few years. Over that time I've put in a several serious offers, with one having gone under contract. During inspection it came up that the roof replacement advertised in listing was unpermitted and shoddily done- but apparently that's common in my area. The house was affordable enough that I probably could have fixed it eventually on my own. My agent said that the issue was a 'deal killer.' They also said that the seller's agent was telling us to terminate as soon as the roof issue came up and insinuated that the house would not be worth the trouble as the seller was hostile. I thought that that meant my agent was great and looking out for me, but now I'm not so sure. I absolutely fell in love with a house a few days ago that is everything I want, in the location I want, and all vintage inside. It's basically untouched since the 70s, which is of course good and bad. The bad is the seller (a trustee) has no informa...

Being treated like a pariah when applying for rentals despite having a decent net worth?

I have suffered from a chronic illness for the past 5+ years and was unemployed. my money came from the stock market, it still does. Because I live in a frugal way, only paying enough for absolute necessities (Rent, utilities, basic needs), my tax returns over the past years aren't wowing. The thing is, in assets (Stocks) I have over 7 figures. For most of these places, I can afford 40 years worth of rent up front. I don't know how else to put it. It's confidence killing, honestly. "Uh... you're unemployed?". That's the response. "This is a very unconventional application". We could literally experience a nuclear war and I'd still never miss a rent payment. Liquidity is not an issue. I have no record, etc. I get it. I understand that it's unconventional, that they have a system to abide by - but there's really nothing else wrong with me? Never missed a rent payment, things like that. I do not want to buy a house because it reduce...

Am I the crazy one regarding this appraisal situation?

To bring y'all quickly up to speed regarding this situation. I'm selling my home in an area which is still considered a slight seller's market. The home initially got two offers within the first 5 days, but that could've been luck because half of the homes square footage is technically in a heated partially finished walkout basement, so it's not included in the gross living space which makes the home look much smaller for the asking price. There has been a 2 month delay in this closing process, because I had to go through insurance to get the roof replaced after an insane snowfall came through the area and damaged the roof. A bit about the buyer. They initially tried to low ball 10k under asking price but I stood firm so they offered to pay asking price on cash. Later, they decided to change from Cash to FHA loan, claiming he didn't want to pay fees associated with getting the cash. This required him needing an appraisal, to which it ended up coming out 18k un...

Why are property managers involved in telling condo owners how much personal liability insurance they should have?

(Honolulu, Hawaii) It is understandable for this to come from a condo management association. Source: It is standard for a condo association board to require owners to carry liability insurance, typically ranging from to cover accidents, injuries, or negligence within the unit, often protecting the association from lawsuits. I live in a condo and own two units -- one I'm occupying and one that I was renting to my son. I have ample insurance on both. The association has always been fine with my insurance levels. My son recently moved out and I hired a property manager (unaffiliated with the association) to find me a tenant. The property manager now wants much higher insurance levels that I have. What's going on here? What risk does the property manager incur to his business by my having a lower insurance level? submitted by /u/Markdd8 [link] [comments] source https://www.reddit.com/r/RealEstate/comments/1s2sp3p/why_are_property_managers_involved_in_telling/

Architects doing paper lot land sourcing/site acquisition? Entry into architect as developer

(Originally posted in r/architects ) I was pushing Gemini’s “architect as developer” knowledge by asking some questions about the logistics of that and how it works. It told me one way to break in is by doing site sourcing and basically using your architectural skills to present packages showing what can be achieved on a lot. Is there a precedent for architects/designers doing site sourcing for developers by presenting feasibility studies of undeveloped land? It also told me that you could put a form of sweat equity into the development project by doing this. I really don’t know much about anything real estate related so I’m wondering what you all have to say about this? From what I gathered in other searches though, it seems like a lot of site sourcing is done with AI now anyway, so what value would a designer bring if you did this? I also don’t get how you’d even approach somebody. “Here’s a pdf with colorful boxes on an Axonometric diagram of this site you don’t own, now pay m...

Smart vs Emotional choice. Which to choose?

Without getting too deep in the weeds, my wife and I are torn between two houses. House 1: On a ridge with a view, checks all our boxes though has some small compromises but we would be able to get it around $45k below comps and due to the area we expect it will appreciate very well. It needs a big of updating and due to poor photos and terrible design choices, these small updates could have strong ROI and will appreciate well. We really like the house and it’s a very high quality, 10 years old and will have lower monthly costs. It’s fairly private and only 10 minute commute and you can hit trails within 1 mile (both trail runners) House 2: We love and was love at first time. It checks all the boxes and it felt like home from the first tour. It’s in a good area and will have decent appreciation but not like house 1. It’s a 40 year old house so if has some unknowns with the windows being older, well has a slow flow rate(due to region not well issue) and a few other cost unknowns but ...