Agent seems to only dissuade me from buying and I'm not sure if this is a sign that they are looking out for me, or not.
I've been working with an agent for a few years. Over that time I've put in a several serious offers, with one having gone under contract. During inspection it came up that the roof replacement advertised in listing was unpermitted and shoddily done- but apparently that's common in my area. The house was affordable enough that I probably could have fixed it eventually on my own. My agent said that the issue was a 'deal killer.' They also said that the seller's agent was telling us to terminate as soon as the roof issue came up and insinuated that the house would not be worth the trouble as the seller was hostile.
I thought that that meant my agent was great and looking out for me, but now I'm not so sure.
I absolutely fell in love with a house a few days ago that is everything I want, in the location I want, and all vintage inside. It's basically untouched since the 70s, which is of course good and bad. The bad is the seller (a trustee) has no information about when the septic was serviced, the roof condition, etc (even though it's had the same owner for over 50 years). A sink had visible dirt backup in it which likely means major plumbing issues. I looked into getting an FHA 203k loan and thought I might have a shot because the house clearly needs work, and Id be taking the work on myself rather than asking for seller credits. I had a second visit with a contractor friend set up. Then my agent said there were already six offers on the house and I should give up. That they'd never consider an FHA loan. However, the seller hadnt cancelled the appt we had for the second look- which makes me think none of those offers was amazing enough to take. I qualified for the asking price plus significant additional funds for renovation. I also asked about sending a letter saying how much I loved the house and that I didn't want to change it, but apparently that was a stupid idea and is prohibited now.
My agent insinuated they probably have cash offers with waived contingencies?! which seems nuts. It's priced similarly to other houses in the area, its not cheap enough to be a flip. Another house I had put an offer on a couple years ago that had several other offers ended up having to drop the price when inspections showed that the septic needed to be replaced.
Anyway, I'm just wondering if this agent is looking out for me, or whether they are just trying to get rid of me as a client but don't quite know how.
[link] [comments]
source https://www.reddit.com/r/RealEstate/comments/1s415wg/agent_seems_to_only_dissuade_me_from_buying_and/
Comments
Post a Comment