Without getting too deep in the weeds, my wife and I are torn between two houses.
House 1: On a ridge with a view, checks all our boxes though has some small compromises but we would be able to get it around $45k below comps and due to the area we expect it will appreciate very well. It needs a big of updating and due to poor photos and terrible design choices, these small updates could have strong ROI and will appreciate well. We really like the house and it’s a very high quality, 10 years old and will have lower monthly costs. It’s fairly private and only 10 minute commute and you can hit trails within 1 mile (both trail runners)
House 2: We love and was love at first time. It checks all the boxes and it felt like home from the first tour. It’s in a good area and will have decent appreciation but not like house 1. It’s a 40 year old house so if has some unknowns with the windows being older, well has a slow flow rate(due to region not well issue) and a few other cost unknowns but it’s been treated and maintained very well. It’s a 25 min commute and 15 minute drive to trails so not bad but not nearly as fantastic as the first place. This house is asking around $45k above comps(neighbour recently sold for much less though it’s not as nice but even factoring that in, this house is overpriced). We are in a buyers market but they have made it clear their price is firm, they will make no concessions and if they can’t sell for this number they will keep it.
What to do? Do you go for a better deal you really like that financially long term will be a better choice(we are buying well within our budget either way) or do you go with the overpay for the love at first sight?
Has anyone been in a similar situation and been happy or regret their decision? We’ve been agonizing on this for a while and can’t decide.
[link] [comments]
source https://www.reddit.com/r/RealEstate/comments/1s2lxjk/smart_vs_emotional_choice_which_to_choose/
Comments
Post a Comment