Skip to main content

Need Guidance on Unresponsive Landlord Situation for My Client

Hey fellow agents,

I have a client who's facing a bit of a challenge with their current landlord, and I'm seeking some advice on the best course of action. Here's the situation:

On June 12th, my client sent an email and a text to their landlord, informing them of their intention to vacate the property by July 19th and not renew the lease. The lease ended in March, and they had previously requested to switch to a month-to-month arrangement, but received no response to that request either.

On July 1st, my client followed up with another email and a phone call that went to voicemail, reiterating their intention to vacate by July 19th. Still, no response from the landlord.

Now it's July 26th, and my client has fully moved out, but there's still no word from the landlord. The lease agreement states that 30 days' notice is required for breaking the lease, which my client provided via email and text. They have saved all correspondence and phone records.

I'm concerned the landlord might claim they weren't properly notified. What steps can my client take to protect themselves and ensure there are no issues with the move-out process and potential security deposit return? Any insights or similar experiences would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks in advance for your help!

submitted by /u/jimmydafarmer
[link] [comments]

source https://www.reddit.com/r/RealEstate/comments/1eewhpi/need_guidance_on_unresponsive_landlord_situation/

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Aren't comps/CMAs useless with buyer credits at close happening now?

I'm looking into buying a new construction townhouse in my HCOL US city. I'm seeing builders offering interest rate buydowns worth $20k-$60k on $800k homes (rather than just lowering prices) in order to keep their comps high for their other units, now that buyer demand has been declining. I asked my agent about these, and he said these buydowns aren't even the full story: buyers can write all kinds of other credits into an offer, like their closing costs, prepaid sewer fees, etc. Apparently cash buyers can just write in a "buyer credit at close" for any amount in their offer. So a new townhouse that appeared to sell for $800k in the MLS might have actually been a cash offer with a $100k+ buyer credit at close, meaning the buyer only spent $700k or less in total, but to the rest of the world they can only see the $800k! So that made me realize I can't trust comps/CMAs for other new construction townhouses. The sales prices could be way lower than they appear...

Pool fill without engineer oversight

We are in the process of purchasing our first ever home in CA and we just discovered in the disclosures that the new build property we are purchasing previously had a swimming pool which was filled without an engineer onsite to approve the work (details from disclosure below). Is this something we should be concerned with or not? Is it something we should have additional inspections conducted on? We are originally from the UK and not really sure what to do with this information and if it is concerning or not. A POOL DID EXIST PREVIOUSLY. COPING, TILE, GUNNITE AND REBAR WERE ALL REMOVED AND DIRT AND CLEAN DRAIN ROCK WERE USED TO FILL IT IN. COMPACTED FILL WAS NOT USED AND NO ENGINEER APPROVED THE DIRT AND DRAIN ROCK FILL IN submitted by /u/tommot82 [link] [comments] source https://www.reddit.com/r/RealEstate/comments/dpyzw8/pool_fill_without_engineer_oversight/

Making offers on houses not listed for sale.

I want to buy a home for retirement. I am looking at lots of options, mostly focusing on the locations that appeal to me. I see lots of Zillow estimates of homes that look like great deals to me. Are these estimates accurate, even though similar houses in the same area that are for sale are usually priced much higher? If so, is it realistic for me to try to make offers to owners that do not have their homes listed? Would a realtor even consider helping me do this? Or, do these values indicate that the houses listed for sale are overpriced, and I should just lowball until someone accepts? Are houses today tending to sell far below list prices, or ??? submitted by /u/chewybrian [link] [comments] source https://www.reddit.com/r/RealEstate/comments/1o4mcon/making_offers_on_houses_not_listed_for_sale/