Skip to main content

Single family vs Multi Family

Hello All,
I am hoping to buy my first house next year. I am hoping to buy a multi-family home for investment but I live in MA and multi-family homes are pretty high in price. Right now im just looking through zillow (I know it shouldnt be the do-all say-all but i'm just starting), and I feel like multi-families right now may not be the best investment because even though I can get more money, the amount of mortgage i'd have to pay would be more where I feel like i would just set myself to always lose money if rent + some of my money will go to mortgage. I am planning on living in one of the units so that's one less unit to get money from. Most single families I see, I'd have to pay about the same difference amount if I lived in a single family as oppose to a multi-family. So I am thinking maybe I should just buy a single family and then the following year get another single family to get the rent from that house.

Is this a good idea? Are Multi-family still better investments than single family even if I am paying the mortgage out of my pocket for the first few years? I want to set myself to have multiple houses to where I can retire young.

submitted by /u/ea0995
[link] [comments]

source https://www.reddit.com/r/RealEstate/comments/j2xzsm/single_family_vs_multi_family/

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Aren't comps/CMAs useless with buyer credits at close happening now?

I'm looking into buying a new construction townhouse in my HCOL US city. I'm seeing builders offering interest rate buydowns worth $20k-$60k on $800k homes (rather than just lowering prices) in order to keep their comps high for their other units, now that buyer demand has been declining. I asked my agent about these, and he said these buydowns aren't even the full story: buyers can write all kinds of other credits into an offer, like their closing costs, prepaid sewer fees, etc. Apparently cash buyers can just write in a "buyer credit at close" for any amount in their offer. So a new townhouse that appeared to sell for $800k in the MLS might have actually been a cash offer with a $100k+ buyer credit at close, meaning the buyer only spent $700k or less in total, but to the rest of the world they can only see the $800k! So that made me realize I can't trust comps/CMAs for other new construction townhouses. The sales prices could be way lower than they appear...

Pool fill without engineer oversight

We are in the process of purchasing our first ever home in CA and we just discovered in the disclosures that the new build property we are purchasing previously had a swimming pool which was filled without an engineer onsite to approve the work (details from disclosure below). Is this something we should be concerned with or not? Is it something we should have additional inspections conducted on? We are originally from the UK and not really sure what to do with this information and if it is concerning or not. A POOL DID EXIST PREVIOUSLY. COPING, TILE, GUNNITE AND REBAR WERE ALL REMOVED AND DIRT AND CLEAN DRAIN ROCK WERE USED TO FILL IT IN. COMPACTED FILL WAS NOT USED AND NO ENGINEER APPROVED THE DIRT AND DRAIN ROCK FILL IN submitted by /u/tommot82 [link] [comments] source https://www.reddit.com/r/RealEstate/comments/dpyzw8/pool_fill_without_engineer_oversight/

Making offers on houses not listed for sale.

I want to buy a home for retirement. I am looking at lots of options, mostly focusing on the locations that appeal to me. I see lots of Zillow estimates of homes that look like great deals to me. Are these estimates accurate, even though similar houses in the same area that are for sale are usually priced much higher? If so, is it realistic for me to try to make offers to owners that do not have their homes listed? Would a realtor even consider helping me do this? Or, do these values indicate that the houses listed for sale are overpriced, and I should just lowball until someone accepts? Are houses today tending to sell far below list prices, or ??? submitted by /u/chewybrian [link] [comments] source https://www.reddit.com/r/RealEstate/comments/1o4mcon/making_offers_on_houses_not_listed_for_sale/