Skip to main content

Closing delayed. Again. [PA]

Hello all! Long time reader, first time poster here.

My husband I are currently in a weird situation trying to purchase our first home. Looking to hear from anyone who has ever experienced this or something similar, as everyone we are working with has not. This is in Pennsylvania.

A little backstory:

Home is a manufactured double wide on a permanent cement pillar foundation. It is sitting on 2 acres, moved onto the property in 2004. It has been someone's summer vacation home, so it's in great shape. We are doing a USDA loan and had the home inspected, water tested. All looks good. Sure, the bathrooms could use updating as far as fixtures and minor things like that, but we aren't picky. No red flags were discovered.

We have been approved with our lender initially, but it has not gone to USDA for approval yet, because there is no title for this home. Part of the process of buying a mobile home is retiring the title to real estate. Seller bought it as a model home from a manufacturer that is no longer in business. He is a really organized guy, had all other paperwork, but says he has no recollection of ever getting a title. The women doing the title search talked to us today and said that she has contacted PennDOT, tried multiple search resources, talked to other connections, and simply cannot find anything about it.

She is currently going to recommend to the seller's agent that they petition this in court to try to get some kind of proof of ownership, so that it can be transferred to us. Will a situation like that even fly with a government-backed loan?

Is there anything else we can do or be aware of with this process? As much as I'd love to get into this house, I know things are looking grim at this point.

submitted by /u/stark_aurora
[link] [comments]

source https://www.reddit.com/r/RealEstate/comments/gt2zlk/closing_delayed_again_pa/

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Aren't comps/CMAs useless with buyer credits at close happening now?

I'm looking into buying a new construction townhouse in my HCOL US city. I'm seeing builders offering interest rate buydowns worth $20k-$60k on $800k homes (rather than just lowering prices) in order to keep their comps high for their other units, now that buyer demand has been declining. I asked my agent about these, and he said these buydowns aren't even the full story: buyers can write all kinds of other credits into an offer, like their closing costs, prepaid sewer fees, etc. Apparently cash buyers can just write in a "buyer credit at close" for any amount in their offer. So a new townhouse that appeared to sell for $800k in the MLS might have actually been a cash offer with a $100k+ buyer credit at close, meaning the buyer only spent $700k or less in total, but to the rest of the world they can only see the $800k! So that made me realize I can't trust comps/CMAs for other new construction townhouses. The sales prices could be way lower than they appear...

Pool fill without engineer oversight

We are in the process of purchasing our first ever home in CA and we just discovered in the disclosures that the new build property we are purchasing previously had a swimming pool which was filled without an engineer onsite to approve the work (details from disclosure below). Is this something we should be concerned with or not? Is it something we should have additional inspections conducted on? We are originally from the UK and not really sure what to do with this information and if it is concerning or not. A POOL DID EXIST PREVIOUSLY. COPING, TILE, GUNNITE AND REBAR WERE ALL REMOVED AND DIRT AND CLEAN DRAIN ROCK WERE USED TO FILL IT IN. COMPACTED FILL WAS NOT USED AND NO ENGINEER APPROVED THE DIRT AND DRAIN ROCK FILL IN submitted by /u/tommot82 [link] [comments] source https://www.reddit.com/r/RealEstate/comments/dpyzw8/pool_fill_without_engineer_oversight/

Making offers on houses not listed for sale.

I want to buy a home for retirement. I am looking at lots of options, mostly focusing on the locations that appeal to me. I see lots of Zillow estimates of homes that look like great deals to me. Are these estimates accurate, even though similar houses in the same area that are for sale are usually priced much higher? If so, is it realistic for me to try to make offers to owners that do not have their homes listed? Would a realtor even consider helping me do this? Or, do these values indicate that the houses listed for sale are overpriced, and I should just lowball until someone accepts? Are houses today tending to sell far below list prices, or ??? submitted by /u/chewybrian [link] [comments] source https://www.reddit.com/r/RealEstate/comments/1o4mcon/making_offers_on_houses_not_listed_for_sale/